Scottish Flyer

By ianjardine

The view above Castleton

The day started with a very early morning phone call, "Ian, it is crewing, we need you for a flight". So as the sun came up I was in the car heading for Blackpool to do a return flight to Alicante. What a beautiful sunrise it was, I was so tempted to stop off on my drive up but unfortunately I didnt have the time.

Anyway, it looks as if you had a much better day here than they did in Alicante. On arrival we had thunderstorms, rain and strong winds and it was only 10 degrees. I felt really quite sorry for our passengers as they disembarked, the look of dissapointment was on all there faces.

30 minutes later we were refuelled and heading back. Returning from Alicante just before sunset this was the view above Castleton, Derbyshire looking towards the North East. Those who know the area may recognise the Howden Reservoir and more famously, the Derwent Reservoir. Sadly it was rather misty so it wasn't the clearest of views and the Derwent Dam is covered by the smoke trail in the lower part of the image but I still thought it was worthy of a Blip.

I'm on Standby again in the early hours, fingers crossed that phone will not ring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.