wrperry

By wrperry

Raven in Mono

Conditions weren't ideal, but I really needed to take a long, solitary walk yesterday.  I've had very little alone time over the last few weeks, and needed the boost that only a stroll in nature provides.  So I went to a favorite, quiet location with camera in tow.  There was a great deal of hawk activity, but no good photo opportunities.  Then I heard an unfamiliar squawk, and followed the source.  I must have seen many ravens before, but this one was so vocal and active that I couldn't miss it.  It traveled alone, hopping between treetops, showing off its shaggy feathers.  The lighting was horrendous (light gray overcast sky, shooting into what was left of the sun), so I converted this shot into black and white.  I liked the way it highlighted the shaggy appearance, and the feather layers, giving it an abstract look.  It's something different for me anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.