Rag tree

Well not only is Himself brilliant at making pancakes (we managed 4 each!!!) he came up with an excellent plan. I was telling him about Joe Tree Day and wondering what to blip when he said: 'a rag tree of course!' Of course but I either had to cheat or make my own! Guess what. A blackthorn is now wondrously adorned with things that I happen to have made earlier - really, waiting to be transformed into some sort of mobile. The little heart traditionally comes out as a Christmas ornament but can now stay in the tree. Rag trees as you will recall  are often found at holy wells, rags being left as offerings to show you had visited; or, more complicatedly, you wiped the rag on an afflicted part and then hung it in the tree. The tree took on the illness of the sufferer and as the rag decayed so did the illness. Today all sorts of things can be offered including tissues - as they speed up the process! Extras show another of my offerings and a rag tree at St Gobnait's Well, Ballyvourney.

No sooner had I established my rag tree than a message came through from Will - a negative Covid test! Bizarrely, his flat mate who had tested positive was now negative - a case of negative positive or positive negative as Trump once explained! What a relief, He still has to self-isolate for a week.

Anyway, I hope Joe Tree looks in now and again, and I hope he knows that his site remains a kind and creative place, where we all are pretty excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.