Iris

Yesterday I had commented on a Blipper's journal that her iris were further on than ours, then this morning Tony pointed out ours, which were just peeping out of the ground when I looked a few days ago.  It must be the warm snap that has brought them on.

Tony drove me in to Bradford this morning which felt very strange as we haven't been in a city in a year.  I had my first vaccination in the carpark of the Council building (now empty) where my dad worked many many years ago in the architects' department.  The vaccination centre was set up in what we called terrapins when I was teaching, mobile classrooms I think is the correct terminology, more deja vu!  It was extremely well organised and everyone was welcoming.  It will be May when I return for the second dose which will probably be the next time we go in to a city too!

I finished reading 'Hamnet' whilst I waited to go in for the vaccination.  It is a very good book and I enjoyed the Author's Note at the back.  The story is set in the  late16th century with a young boy falling down some stairs.  That set the author wondering what kind of floor he would have fallen on to at that time, which prompted a full on visit to Shakespeare's home in Stratford; the creation of a herbal and medicinal garden and kestrel flying amongst other research projects to aid the writing of the novel.  It all sounded great fun.

It has felt like Spring today so I invited friend Angela out in the afternoon and we walked a circuit of the moor in the warm sunshine.

Breaking News!  I had a reply from the bird ringing folks and the Dipper I blipped yesterday was 'rung'/'ringed' in 2018 by someone locally, so no record of it having had exotic holidays but good to know it has been around for a while. It is a female apparently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.