Dipper

Several local blippers have reported seeing dippers on the beck recently so I was determined to see if I could blip it.  I set out early and walked to the waterfall and found a spot between both falls where I have spotted one before.  I stood for quite a while, nothing.  Several folks came by and we exchanged greetings, I stood a while longer....

Ready for my mid morning cuppa, I packed up and walked back down the path, keeping my eyes peeled for any signs of a tiny shape dipping from the rocks, to no avail.  Once at the caravan site I decided to take the alternative route home and, before long, I spotted a male and a female goosander in the beck, so it was camera out.  I took a couple of photos and then saw a movement in the stream to my left, and there was this dipper, yahey!    I took my time approaching the bank but it was quite happily skipping from stone to stone and diving in to the water.  So lovely to see and such incredible little birds.  This one has two rings on its legs so I am going to see if I can find a record of it anywhere.  It says A50 if anyone is interested.  I should have realised that there is still far too much water coming down for the dipper to cope with the flow above the falls.

If you enjoy Maggie O'Farrell and haven't read 'Hamnet' yet, I can recommend it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.