Adam's Images

By ajt

Tiny treasure

My grandfather collected stamps, put them in a box. They were never removed from the envelope, sorted and arranged, just added to the box. He gave them too me under a promise to never give them away to a charity thing (Blue Peter often collected them). I never gave them away, and thought I mostly only added the pretty stamps the collection is still intact and in the same box (though it's a little full). At the time my grandfather said some of the stamps are worth a lot, but most aren't but he didn't remember which was which...

Today's stamp is the oldest I've blipped so far and was issued in 1949 to mark the 75th anniversary of the Postal Union. It has a face value of 2.5 old pence, which is a tiny bit more than 1 new pence. You can buy them in mint condition for a few quid, so this used and worn on is probably worth more than its face value but not much. This isn't the treasure in the box...

I wasn't born in 1949 though my parents would have been teenagers at the time. My mother never said much about her teens, I know some of the stuff from being a child - mostly hiding under the table when the bombers were overhead - and her exploits at the Co-Op and various textile mills she worked at. I suppose back then the you went from a child in school to an adult in work without the long teen period that is common today....!

Managed to get a few things done at work today, not quite what I wanted but stuff, so moving in the right direction for a change...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.