Keats

This 3p stamp was issued in July 1971 to mark the 150th year since his death in Rome aged 25. Later this month will mark the 200th anniversary of his death on the 23rd of February. In 1971 I wasn't exactly reading romantic poetry, in fact I was mostly concentrating on eating and sleeping. I don't dislike poetry, I read some at school for my O-level English literature, but I'm no aficionado, and it's not something I seek out, though I can appreciate it if I make an effort.

In 1971 this stamp cost 3p today in mint condition it could cost you more than £5, which means this particular stamp is worth more than an equivalent modern one of the same class.

All the snow had gone this morning, so we are back to more normal Brittany weather, cold and damp at this time of year - though we are expected to get something a bit more spring like in a few days!

At lunchtime today I had an Interview with France24. They wanted to talk to Brits in France now that Brexit has happened and how it had impacted them. It's rather odd because at the moment COVID has been the bigger problem, but once that's over then the reality of Brexit will be exposed and all the inconveniences laid bare, without being able to hide behind COVID.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.