Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Sorting

This is the only picture taken today and I have to thank G for it.

The day started with viewing a flat that is being renovated across the road from us. I grew up in this block of flats and Pauline (who lives in the flat I actually grew up in) said that we could see what was being done. These buildings were built in the mid-70s and in all these years, the outside has been painted once. Now, there's a big crackdown on multiple occupancies and people have been asked to evacuate.

The landlady's office is finally paying attention to them. They actually expect new tenants to fix the flat themselves but have realised that's not going to happen, so they have started the process of going through the units that have been vacated one by one. They have a massive job on their hands. The attraction is the cheap(er) rent and getting to stay on the street I've lived on since I was 10 years old. This is something of a miracle in a place as transient as Dubai. They won't be ready for several months yet, so we'll see.

We then did the recycling where G spotted these guys. They were emptying the bins so she just handed them the bag! She then had to talk them into allowing her to get this picture! They seemed shy.

We headed to Bur Juman - mainly as it is the nearest place where my bank has an ATM where I can deposit cash into my account!! They've closed all their branches around town and have only three now spread out across the city. It was good to have a little wander around the Mall. For many years, this was Dubai's third shopping mall. It still looks brilliant, but the population centres have changed, and so has the clientele. G enjoyed having an unhurried browse in Daiso.

Back home for lunch and the rest of the day really. It is Ash Wednesday and somehow, it doesn't feel like it at all. :(  Or maybe I'm just mega disappointed about yesterday's news.

Oh, G got an SMS with an appointment for her first dose of what should be the Pfizer vaccine - tomorrow at 12:30! I guess they're not expecting people to have any plans.

Edit on 18/2/21
Looking at other blips today, I've been reminded it was Joe Tree Day today. When I first saw this picture, I couldn't help noticing the trees in the background - not something you would expect to see in a desert. I hope they are enough for me to be able to dedicate this blip to Joe Tree, founder of this amazing website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.