Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Shipyard

Today, for the first time ever, I got close to the ship building yard at Jadaf. It's a bit of a story... G went to her chess club in the morning and got chatting with Pauline who told her that in the area where this blip is taken, people go down and BBQ on the weekends. Well, we had to check it out. Not that the spot we usually go to is far, but it suffers from exuberant dune buggy riders who don't have a clue as to how much noise their vehicles make.

Back to my picture, which is actually taken by ME through the windscreen! I stopped the car in the middle of the road. No need to pull over as it is so quiet there. Jadaf is an area on the Creek which has had a shipyard since the late 1970s. They build wooden dhow (cargo ships) but as you can see in the picture, they are building a dhow made of steel. I'd love to know why.

Prior to that, we'd had a pizza in Mercato when I picked G up. We then went to the GPO to renew our post office box. They have increased the price (overnight - as they so often do here) so after chatting with two "managers" I had to cough up the higher price. I tried to argue/suggest that as a modern country, they need to tell their customers of price increases before they bring them into effect. They agreed but said they were powerless to do anything. Listening to them talk/explain made it worth it!

We then changed some pounds to dirhams. I have to say, the guy in the exchange gave us a better rate than what was on the board and he even waived the charge! Amazing. So kind!

Zoom Life Group was good but I have to admit I was slightly distracted by the news I had received earlier in the day. The job I hoped to get hasn't come through. ;((

PS. The buildings in the picture are at Dubai Creek Harbour - the new development where the tallest structure in the world will appear - next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.