Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Mating Herons and So Much More !

I was determined to make the best of the better weather today as more rain is forecast over the next few days.

So after the morning dog walk and the joy of watching a green woodpecker, I set off to visit the heronry again.
Most of the birds seemed to be on the ground but I got a few shots of them in flight as they made their way back to the tops of the trees.3rd extra
I walked up and down for about an hour, noticing other interesting characters hiding in the marshy ground, most notably a pair of resting snipe.
Eventually I walked further along the lane and spotted a new nest in a tree close to the boundary wall. Both birds were busy arranging their sticks and then suddenly they began mating. Although I was close enough, the tangle of branches and twigs prevented a completely clear shot but to capture this moment means that it has to be my blip today.
A clearer shot of another more distant pair in extras.

The weather was still good so I then drove to Hackney Marshes to see what was around.
Long tailed tits, water rail (3), a male kingfisher, a little grebe, a couple of egrets... the list goes on. I took shots of them all but I was also lucky to witness a sparrow hawk catch a pigeon .
A drama then unfolded as the female hawk fought to keep her prey from some marauding corvids. 2nd extra


All in all a very satisfying day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.