Bites

I will rue the day I wrote this when we’re plunged back into a Siberian snowstorm, but there was a distinct spring-like vibe as I walked to the office. It was a successful wearing of a backpack for the first time since the back pain started, and a successful day of sitting in a chair without twinging. I have a new-found appreciation for offices and the way they help with posture.

As the only two people in the office, Emma and I had been having a critical and heated debate about which tub in the Marks & Spencer Mini Bites range is the best. She favours the chocolate flakes, but I countered that they are not much more than brown air. All of the rest are better: mini chocolate rolls, flapjack pieces, rocky road bites. The only way we could settle this was gorging on these products in the afternoon.

After sampling the chocolate flakes, I take back my earlier accusation. But they cannot match the rest of the range.

The take home message is that offices are a terrible influence on snacking, even when there’s only one other person there.

Tonight’s Thursday Meals On Wheels delivery from Leigh was of Singapore style noodles, with an apple crumble for pud. She’s a national treasure and it’s very enjoyable when we both bustle back to our respective places after the drop-off and then have a long video chat as we eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.