Boss

I think various members of our Liberia team, and the main partner organisation we work with there, think I wield influence in the organisation. From time to time I receive requests to help find a role for a family member and from the appellations used (boss, manager) they’re angling for me to ‘put in a good word.’ They’re sadly mistaken if they think I can wangle anything. In reality I was only in Liberia for periods, filling in ahead of a permanent manager on one of our field projects, who was stuck in Nigeria. When she managed to get into Liberia, my involvement dwindled.

At the end of the day I had an online drink with a couple of colleagues, but the only thing I had to hand was the flat dregs of a bottle of Diet Coke. Cheers...

After that I was intending to investigate whether there was anything worth tuning into as part of Cambridgeshire LGBTQ+ History Month. I held off though as by evening I’ve often had my fill of online events or meetings. The way of interacting via screens with everything and everyone is getting tiresome, even on interesting subjects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.