Devonian

By Mover

Can you help me?

I walked to Paignton Municipal Cemetery today. This is the grave of Oliver Heaviside. I have always liked looking at grave stones, and previously lived next to the largest church graveyard in Lancashire. Needless to say I was on my own in the dreary rain.
Who was Oliver Heaviside? He was an engineer who changed the face of telecommunications, mathematics, and science. Today his name is most associated with his earliest theory - radio waves and the earth’s curvature - due to his name being linked to the phenomenon known as the Kennelly - Heaviside layer. He has blue plaques in Paignton, Torquay, and Newton Abbot. The Heaviside layer is mentioned in the musical Cats.
Maybe it was this visit and the little word I had with him that helped me fix my computer and it’s frozen screen later - I’d tried everything else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.