Kipsie

By Kipsie

I've been jabbed today.

 The Pfizer vaccine, which I was pleased about as having had a conversation with two friends yesterday telling me of the side affects they had experienced with the Oxford Zeneca vaccine. An early appointment 8.50am ... I was out again at 9.02 then off to the shops. I had £40 of Love2shop vouchers from  assisting Mum with her NSO survey backalong. First Wilko, I checked out the price of Electric toothbrushes, then bought veg seed & onion sets. That was £10 spent, next Boots chemists to check the price of their electric toothbrushes. Same toothbrush as Wilko's but £10cheaper. Kurching! Another £20 vouchers spent. Directly opposite Boots, Iceland, a quick whizz around there. Sea salt, & black pepper grinders only £1 each so I grabbed them, Quaker oats (sachets) on offer plus a couple of other bits, that was the other £10 spent. Next stop Asda. They have a 3 for £10 offer on peat free compost. A simple transaction paying you would have thought but so confusing at the checkouts. Well I suppose its because I never shop there. In the car leaving Newton Abbot at 10am. Now that's my kind of retail shopping.  The town was dead, it looked so sad with so many of the shops closed, some empty, Closing Down Sale signs in Peacocks windows. Will they reopen ... I don't know. Swung by the Coop to stock up on my cider .. None in stock. :-( Picked up a couple of items for Mum plus a couple of Danish chocolate twists. Rang Mum told her to get the kettle on for a swift catch up. Arrived there about 10.40. No Indie. I could sense Mum was a tad anxious as Suzanne normally drops her off at 10.30 if not a little before. I surreptitiously checked the sound was up on my phone and checked I'd not missed any calls. She arrived at about 10.50. All smiles so presumably just having too much fun out on their walk.
Back home Mr Grumpy was bordering on happy .. :-) I unloaded the groceries, nipped up the allotment with 2 bags of compost, back again, by which time it was 12.50. Lunch time.
This afternoon I've been faffing with these hellebores that have been sitting in the freezer all week. Not really working, so I went outside and attempted to take some pics of  Salix Mt.Aso but it was too windy., back to the hellebores. I took a few pics then put this tray back in the freezer until I feel inspired.

I'd bought a tray of fresh chicken wings in Iceland. Hubby keeps on about the Buffalo wings we used to order at  The Village pub in Douglas, Cork, when we lived there, so after lunch I Googled recipes. They all used a hot sauce in their ingredients so I walked up to town and picked up a bottle of  Frank's RedHot sauce. Ideal! Homemade Buffalo wings, jacket spud, corn on the cob, battered onion rings (not tried them before, but they always look good when you see them in restaurants), & coleslaw. That got the thumbs up as well. "We're" in a good mood, long may it continue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.