simisue

By simisue

SALVIA Clevelandii : Cleveland Sage

Several folks on Blip have posted photos of flowers that seem to be
blooming earlier than usual.  I have also been surprised to see flowers
blooming out of season.  This CLEVELAND SAGE, peaking under the fence,  is an example. I saw it blooming on our walk & was reminded that I posted the same plant last year in April.  It has not been an unusually warm or wet winter, so it is a mystery why it is blooming so early.

I am happy to see it any time of the year.  I love all the Sages & Salvias, but  CLEVELAND SAGE is my favorite.  This sage is native to the chaparral of Southern California & northern Mexico.   It is named after Daniel Cleveland, a 19th Century amateur botanist & plant collector, who was the 
co-founder of the San Diego Society of Natural History. 

What a difference a day makes!  Yesterday was a cold & windy, but today
is a calm & sunny.  Such a beautiful day.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.