Leek

I tend to buy too many vegetables. There is never enough room in our fridge. Whenever I see vegetables that look good I have to buy them and have good ideas about how I want to bring them to good use. I post this picture because I loved the soft colors in each slice, the tight concentric rings. There is a lot of beauty in them. These will be in a quiche tomorrow, with eggs, cheese and nuts.
My problem is that I always forget that we are just two persons now, one of who is not a big eater.
I always loved to have guests . How many buffets have I prepared, how many evenings have I stood in the kitchen, preparing beautiful dishes for a social gathering. Now all of that has fallen by the wayside . It is just the two of us.
The fridge is bursting. There is enough food for five different meals and I wonder how much of it I will be able to conserve.
I miss having guests. The result of me buying too much is, that I overeat. As a postwar child I was raised with parents who declared it a sin to waste food . My plate always had to be finished and emptied.
Hence I fight a never ending battle with my weight. And I am loosing. As I cannot move enough these last months.

But, I finally got a date for my knee surgery. It will be end March.
And, thanks to the help of very kind friends, hubby and I , we both have our appointments for first and second vaccination! Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.