100

Today would have been my mom’s 100. Birthday. This picture shows her with her mom in 1928.
She always got mimosas for her birthday as that were her favorite flowers. I found a beautiful mimosa tree this morning and broke some branches. They obviously grow like weed here but it is not easy to keep them fluffy. The green leaves also fold close, hence the saying” someone is reacting like a mimosa” being overly sensitive.
My mom died already in 2013 and I still miss her very often. We were very close during most years of my life. So many shared interests. She wrote so many letters to me that I still have. I think the loss of the person who knew you the longest and best in your life, always leaves a little chilly feeling around the shoulders. She certainly didn’t have an easy life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.