AndrewFH

By AndrewFH

Saraswati

Saraswati is a Nepalese Goddess of art, music and knowledge. This figurine, that is about 20cm. high, is something of a family heirloom. I remember it from my childhood from my grandparents house and inherited it from my Mother when she died. I discovered in the base a scrap of paper that says it was 'inspected by Mrs. Lowry' at the Victoria and Albert Museum on '12th June 1974 and identified as being possibly dated to the 19th century. Apparently it would probably originally held a lute or sitar but that is long gone.
Another windy day with blustery showers but surprisingly mild. Saturday jazz jamming this morning and a meeting of the RPS Contemporary Group this afternoon before Grandad School. Too much time on Zoom this afternoon. Tomorrow will be time to limit screen time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.