Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bronze

It’s been a while since I’ve featured one of the many Bronze Age cup and ring marked rocks that are scattered across the moor. This is a good time of year to see them, with the vegetation being at its lowest. 

This one is the highest on Baildon Moor, just a few feet from the summit trig point. It’s a busy spot but I suspect most passers by don’t notice it. And it may be better off that way - if it had a Scheduled Ancient Monument plaque next to it it may receive unwelcome attention.

On my way up I saw and heard my first Skylark of the year, and over in the wet pastures at the far side of the moor the Lapwing were back in numbers, along with a few Curlew. A big gaggle of Greylag and a large flock of Starling added to the avian action.

On my way back across I bumped into a small group of deer, possibly the ones that I saw in the same spot last week. 

A drizzly, windy, hold onto your hat sort of day but good to get out for a longer walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.