Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Trepidation

The quick visit to Mum’s is over, and it was with some trepidation that I set off on the journey back given the disruption I’d experienced the day before and the continuing stormy weather. 

I had a bit of time before my train left from Rhyl (the first service of the day that hadn’t been cancelled) so I wandered down to the front to say hello to the sea. It waved back. Looking west down the coast, the Great Orme at Llandudno was shrouded. In the middle of this the aquarium was still doing it’s outdoor show; the tannoy wafting fragments of commentary along the prom.

My first train got me to Manchester Piccadilly as planned and more or less on time, but that’s when I learned that most routes across the Pennines were cut off by floods. The next leg of my journey had been due to go from Victoria station so I got myself across there with the hope that there may be some replacement buses. There were, but from Rochdale, so I had to pop on a local train for a few stops to get to that bus. 

Once aboard it was quite a cosy way to travel. There was a lot of water on the road and I got glimpses through the dark of boiling rivers but on the whole we made our way safely, and of course calling at all railway stations en route. 

At Bradford I was lucky to get straight on a local bus home,  arriving there eight hours after setting off from Mum’s. A long trip for a short stay, but worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.