pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Warmth

The weather has been so beautiful for the most part of today that to not be outside revelling in it would have been nothing short of a crime.

It’s arrival has been a little overdue, but is nonetheless welcome for it. I think a lot of us are finding that the continued monotony of Lockdown 3 is reaching an inverted fever pitch as tedium and boredom tighten their grip on the reigns of resolve.

In something approaching a kind of normal-esque Sunday, we left The Eldest in her puzzling and continued self-imposed, sloth-like solitary confinement and headed to Grange over Sands where, I have repeatedly stated: it is always sunny, and so it was today. I let the wee ones loose on their scooters to disappear off into the distance and terrorise other promenade perambulaters, leaving me to follow on behind with apologies.

I have officially resigned from telling The Youngest to “look where she’s going” (I’ve officially resigned from telling her anything if the truth be known), the very sound of my voice is clearly become white noise to her.

Aside from feeding her and giving her a hug when she’s fallen over after crashing into something because she wasn’t looking where she was going, The Youngest has no need of me or anyone else for that matter. She is comfortable in her own skin and is going to do what she wants, however she wants regardless of anyone’s thoughts or concerns for her own safety.

How I envy her so.

So nice was the weather, that following lunch, we left home (FOR THE SECOND TIME IN A DAY) and walked to the local playground, which was pleasingly busy with families who’d had the same idea as us. I actually had the wonder of a few moments on a bench, clutching their coats and feeling a little warmth from the sun on my face. I may.......I may have.....smiled.

Today’s picture comes direct from said promenade. Some people really are rather clever aren’t they?

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.