Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Walking...

A bright, sunny day which is usually not my favorite for bird photography. Today, however, I decided to play around with camera settings using one of the many dark-eyed juncos hopping around on the snow as my subjects.  I overexposed this and then brought out the details on the bird in LR, leaving the snow alone.  I like the effect, although I know it won't be to everyone's taste.  I like isolating subjects against dark or light backgrounds - it is very visually appealing to me.  

I also grabbed a few shots of Charlie, again playing with settings to render the background dark.  Not perfect, but I like it.  Have a look HERE on Flickr

Had a nice long chat with my parents this morning.  They are fully recovered from Vax # 1 and looking ahead to #2 in a month.  What a relief it is to have the process underway for them.  Rainy weather today in Portland so their plan was to stay indoors and work a puzzle, read, etc.  

More snow in our forecast for tomorrow although shouldn't be more than a few inches.  And with any luck, it will provide me with some photo ops.  Which is code for "expect a bird in snow" tomorrow.  

Be kind, stay safe.  And today, may I suggest dark chocolate with raspberry?

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.