Devonian

By Mover

Advice to a blipper

Further to my visit to the cemetery I am combining my daily walk with a bit of research. Today I was looking for the house of one of the First World War casualties commemorated there. The record on the Commonwealth War Graves website for the casualty says Roundham Cottages. There is no such address now but I thought these could be the cottages at Roundham, near the harbour. I am not very good at taking photographs discreetly, and I didn’t manage it this time. I was just walking away after my blip when a man came out of one of these houses and called me back. ‘Oi’ , he shouted. He had a can of cider in his hand. Oh dear, I thought, but he was very friendly and just wanted to advise me that the best place to take a photograph of the row was further up the hill. He was unable to help with my query, though he was very interested. He told me that just round the corner lived the fabled man who knew everything. I have his description and will look out for him.
I’ll just have to wait until the library is open to check maps and directories. A work in progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.