On the rocks

At the northern end of the motorway north is a short tunnel. As I was about to enter it I saw the notice that there had been an incident a little north and drivers were advised to expect delays.  The delay was considerable; nearly a half hour to cover at most 2.5 km. This was on the way home to Fidelis Ave.

A quick change and down to the shore to clear my head. I had good photos of a Torea pango (black morph of the variable oystercatcher), a white-faced heron, a kawau paka, and after getting back to the beach house a Kereru (wood pigeon). 

I chose to blip a photo of a Tara (white-fronted tern) on rocks just out from the shore. It had a companion, and I suspect they were almost reserving the rocks for the soon to happen arrival of the flock of Tara waiting to hunt on an incoming tide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.