Texel - sunrise and sunset

Yesterday evening I decided to give it a go for a sunrise shoot here on Texel. It's been a while since I've been out on my own, but I found a location I couldn't resist.

My alarm clock rang at 6.30 and by 6.50 I was on my way to the northern part of the island. I know a jetty here, for a small ferry to Vlieland and a boat 'The Friendship' on which you can go to see seals. But it's winter and the jetty for these boats would now be dismantled. Only a few poles remain during the winter season. Just enough for me!

I arrived around 07.05. Nobody here but me and the winter-jetty. Perfect!
I went straight to work. The sun would rise at 07.47 hours.
A small group of people came around 07.30 and for a while it felt like a workshop when they started to ask about my equipment and filters, but fortunately they were all gone before 08.00. They were all dissapointed about the lack of sun during sunrise and believed they were at the wrong place at the wrong time. I couldn't disagree more! Bye bye!

Of course I noticed that clouds would obstruct the actual sunrise, but I didn't care about that. I didn't have the intention to shoot into the sun this time. I was hoping for good side lighting on the poles though.
It took a while but eventually all that came together once the sun came above the layer of clouds on the horizon.

At 09.15 I was back home for breakfast that was being prepared by Daan. After that we went on our rental e-bikes and had a great day together. They all agreed to come along with me for the sunset on the beach near the lighthouse. I've added one of that session as an extra.
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.