curns' corner

By curns

Empty road

It seems to be getting colder but the sunrise is getting even more stunning.  Soon, the sun will be higher in they sky by 8am (about the time this picture was taken) and I won’t see a sunrise again until autumn.

This morning I noticed the reflection on the damp roadway and managed to get the picture just at the point that the road was empty. I guess the traffic was all stopped at the lights behind me. I didn’t quite achieve the effect I was going for, having the lamppost cut the sun exactly in half: but it’s nearly there.

The pavements remain icy even if the ice has melted on the road itself. I saw a gritting lorry a few days ago but haven’t seen one since. I assume they’re out in the evenings while I am here for the sunrise. Nobody is gritting the paths around here.

This view makes leaving the house in the cold weather worthwhile. I hope to see a few more sunrises before spring is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.