Henry and Mary

Dear Diary,

Henry and Mary were my grandfather's parents.  I got this tiny picture of them in a gold frame when my Grandpa died in 1978 and it just set on my shelf all these years.  Yesterday, I took the picture out of its frame and discovered my great grandfather's writing on the back.  I'm not sure when this photo was taken but judging from Mary's clothes it was probably around 1915 or so.  Henry died in 1927.  They are leaving on vacation from their Wurrall Ave home in Poughkeepsie, NY.  I wish it gave a house number then I would be able to find the house.  Oh well, I was just thrilled to see his handwriting.  I had never noticed the little white dog at their feet either.  I don't know who took the picture but it probably was my grandfather or his brother; both liked photography.  People very often wrote on the back of photographs in those days so if you have an old family photograph you might want to take it out and look on the back.  You might discover a bit of hidden history.

We got about 4-6 inches of new snow yesterday so Matt will be here to shovel me out.  My back is a tiny bit better this morning but I'm going to be very careful with it today for sure.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.