WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Calamity Jane (or Lizzie!)

Oh dear, I've been at it again! This time it's my foot and ankle.
At 3.30 am Bella May came bounding upstairs and straight round to my side of the bed. As soon I woke up she went tearing downstairs - obviously desperate to get outside. Very unusual for her but it happens from time to time.
I followed, half asleep and when I got to what I thought was the bottom of the stairs I missed the last two and ended up in a heap with my right foot bent right under. Bella came for a quick look then rushed to the back door again. I struggled up on my feet and hopped to let her out. 
Frank woke up and asked if I was OK and I said not to worry. Well, what could he do bar carry me upstairs!
While I waited for Bella I got the old frozen peas out (I keep them for such events).
I contemplated spending the rest of the night on the sofa but by this time I needed a wee so struggled back upstairs. I put Deep Relief on my - by now - swollen foot and ankle and wrapped the iced peas round with a towel. I eventually dozed off again and Frank woke me with coffee at 8am.
Getting about was a struggle and painful so after breakfast I took Ibuprofen and paracetamol and strapped my foot up.
We had been planning to come down to the boat tomorrow or Thursday but we brought it forward to today as once on the boat there are no stairs for me to contend with. So, here we are rocking about on the canal in high winds. (We checked with CRT first and he said OK as long as we don't move from our mooring :-)
The funny thing is, since my last knee injury Bob's (next door) crutches have been lying in the car for about 3 months. Yesterday I gave them back to him! 
I could write a book about my falls over the years. Sabrina and I ended up in stitches on the phone this morning as we recounted all the times I've ended up flat on my face or back! Good job I can laugh! :-D))

Bella is of course oblivious to the result of her night time toileting jaunt but was ecstatic when we arrived at the boat. This is the longest gap we've had away from the boat since we bought her in 2017. It all felt cold and damp when we arrived but already 2 hours later it's warm and cosy. 

The lady who answered my Facebook post about my Grandma and Mum in Halton on Lune sent me a print out of the school registration dates that Mum and her sibling attended St Wilfred's school. This has helped fill in some gaps in the family history. She has also invited us to visit her and she will show us round Halton.
Such kindness from a complete stranger :-)

Now I must get on with my Febcreate sketch. Today the prompt is 'Beastie'.
I want to do a colourful beetle.

Thanks for comments, stars and hearts.
Stay cosy and safe :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.