WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

A Garden Day!

It started off rainy this morning but ended up being nice and sunny so I took myself into the garden! A good tidy up is required so I made a start, first clearing the two troughs on the wall. Then I got a bucket of water and cleaned all the dirty plantpots from last years seedlings. Good husbandry!
Frank said he'd take me to the garden centre to get some (even better husbandry!) so we went straight after lunch. Disappointment when we got there though - no Primulas! In fact not a lot of anything there!
In the end we drove to Skipton and I found some at B&M's garden centre. Not in the best condition but they'll soon come on now I've planted them.

The book I ordered about Old Halton (Lancaster) arrived today. This is the book that has the school photo of my Mum aged 9 in it as well as a photo with her brother and sister. It's so lovely to have this record of a piece of her childhood.

Last night I watched the Chris Packham programme about the most intelligent animals. Corvids and Starlings were among the birds he spoke of and also demonstrated. They amaze me!
I am growing to love the Starlings that come to the new feeding station, they are so vociferous and squabbly and also very beautiful. The Jackdaws and Rooks are also daily visitors too along with the Collared Doves, Sparrows, and sometimes Blackbirds and Robins. Today two coal tits came in for the first time! They all seem to tolerate and respect each other. Bella May lies there and watches them but never chases them. I encourage her to be friendly towards other animals and birds and she is - unless she sees rabbits or squirrels in which case she enjoys the chase!

I have to do my Febcreate drawing now.
I've been so busy today I haven't had time to read or comment on Blips yet - apart form those first thing. It's been good to have a busy day!

The Covid 'roadmap' is out now. Let's hope they get it right and we don't end up in another lockdown.
At least it's good news about the efficacy of the vaccines though. ;-)

Wee Lucy started back at school full time now up in Airdrie. The others won't be going back yet properly although Sabrina is sending Amelia back most days, as being a prison Social Worker she can't always work from home.

See you all on Blip tomorrow.
Thanks for comments, stars and hearts.
:-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.