Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

This man.......

Well, what to say. There's so much. I'm thrilled to introduce you to Terry. father of Anna.

He was, and I suppose remains, at heart a Cornish Miner. I first met him twenty years ago; he crushed my limp paw in his lobster like grip and made my eyes water. He really is one of my favourite men.

As a young man, while working deep underground, (just to keep fit), he played rugby for Redruth and Cornwall, he was then called up by England. Playing alongside my boyhood heroes, David Duckham et al. 

His first game was against Wales. Being a tad unsure of what was expected of a new front row prop forward he enquired what the scrum coach wanted him to concentrate on.

"When the Ref calls the first scrum, go down, then punch the Welsh bastard as hard as you can!"
"But....but I'll get sent off."
"Not at this level lad, you just do it."

So at the first scrummage the two masses of humanity went and formed the coven known as a scrum, the dark arts prevailed; suddenly Terry unleashed his best punches on his opposite number. This was accepted as a rite of passage and the game continued. 

If you ever want to sit in a pub for hours, listening to tales of old gather some Royal Marines and a few rugby players. You will never be bored, your chuckle muscles will hurt, but your bar bill will ruin your pension fund. 

Extra. Terry with a slightly different light. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.