Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Clean Gloves

I had a rather early start this morning. Woke up, checked the time: 4:50. Ooooookay. No point in going back to sleep, as then I'd sleep late, and not be able to go for a run before breakfast (lady tsuken's wonderful poached eggs with smoked salmon on toast with avocado), so up I got, and out I went. Five km run and a workout at the gym, and back by about 1/4 past 6. ^_^

In contrast to my last run - when I required rescuing by my lady wife because hurties in the footsies - I felt great. The chill morning air helped, but also I think, the fact that my shoes had had a spin in the washing machine (it's ok for the Merrells). I think that the problem that led to the rubbing and discomfort last weekend was dried mud and such in the fabric of the shoes, leaving them stiff and scratchy. Now, clean, they felt great. So I think they'll be having semi-regular wash cycles.

I wore my Road Gloves this morning, but these are my Trail Gloves, all clean and shiny - and large.

I probably need more than two pairs of running shoes though, so down in the 'Rif today I looked at some shoes. Or tried to. Athlete's Foot had neither the New Balance Minimus or Road Glove 2 in my size (said size being "clown foot"). Rebel Sport had the Minimus, but I did not like it. It felt weird in the mid-foot, almost as though there were blocks at each side. The shop dude said he thought it was perhaps to provide some support, and prevent ... he didn't say pronation; I thought he would, but he didn't ... "rolling". So yes: pronation is what he meant. xP Anyway, they were definitely not for me - and reading up subsequently I found they're more of a "transition" shoe: in-between big cushioned now-standard shoes and minimalist shoes. So, definitely not for me.

I do want to try the Adidas Adipure Gazelle, but I didn't have time today. Reading about it, I find it does have a 4 mm drop heel to toe (my Merrells have zero drop), which put me off, but Nicholas Pang, from the Minimalist Running Shoes blog, who seems to know what he's on about, contends that a drop that low is un-noticeable to someone who already runs fore- or midfoot, and thus not an issue. He also cites the Gazelle as one of his favourite running shoes. So I might just give it a go.

At home, before I decided to blip the shoes, I photographed a wet spiderweb. Just because. I haven't yet managed to take a spiderweb photo I like though - and this hasn't changed that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.