A day in the life

By Shelling

Ohoy!

My island is above all a summer place for many people. In the winter 25000 people live, work and love it here. In the summer the inhabitants rise to over a million. Building the bridge in 1972 made it easier for more tourists to get here and also simplified living here and working in Kalmar, on the  mainland.

In summer all the guest harbours are filled with boats and you wouldn't easily find somewhere to put your boat unless you book in advance. If it was possible, this time of year would be the perfect time to find a parking for your boat. They don't open until mid May so there's still time to enjoy the empty space, should you like that sort of thing.

The day has been full of music. Editing in the morning and a student in the afternoon. I'm not sweating, that's not what I'm saying, I enjoy what I'm doing, having plenty of coffee breaks and time to sit on the veranda or listen to the radio for a while. I had a walk whilst doing my shopping in Färjestaden (Ferrytown) an did my yoga when I got home. It's so lovely to have all the hours to play with all on my own, being a pensioner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.