A day in the life

By Shelling

Flood

A bit of an exaggeration, but it's more flooded than normally because of the large amount of snow and the mild weather. There is no time for the water to sink away fast enough. 

After being occupied at the computer in the morning I took a long walk in the afternoon. It's been a month when the snow has hindered me from having my usual walks through the forest and Alvaret, the large plain. Luckily I wore my wellies, suspecting there might still be some water left after the snow has melted, and it proved to be right. Big parts of the forest was flooded, and the canals and brooks was busy transporting water. Even a small waterfall had formed as you see in the main. 

Quite dramatic for Öland, there is only one official waterfall on the island, probably a couple of metres high, I have't seen it yet. The extra shows where the path use to be, the water was about 20 cm deep, barely lower than the shaft of my wellies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.