Today's Special

By Connections

Tiny Worlds

I've loved tiny things since childhood, probably because I was nearsighted and didn't get glasses until I was about age 10. (Eye tests for children weren't routine then.)

Exploring our backyard with my macro lens, I was drawn to the mosses and lichen on one of our dwarf apple trees, seen above. I like to know the names of plants I photograph, and had an enjoyable time learning about mosses and lichens online. The yellow-green moss is in the genus Orthotricum, a common Pacific Northwest moss that forms tufts on the branches of trees and shrubs. There are several types of foliose lichens growing near it. 

The extra photo is more minimalist in style -- new leaves coming out on our flowering red currant bush. 

Thanks to Pinkhairedlady for hosting TinyTuesday and for this week's challenge: Something from the natural world.

Blip 2159

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.