Today's Special

By Connections

My Tiniest Treasure

I can't remember who gave me this tiny locket when I was a baby; maybe I'll discover the answer as I go through my boxes of old letters and "treasures", one of my pandemic self-isolation goals.

Measuring 3/8 inch (about 9.5 mm) at the widest point, this tiny heart would be easy to lose. I don't remember it ever having a chain, nor do I recall seeing any photos of me wearing it as a baby or young child.

About 1963, in my junior year of high school, I had the heart attached to my gold charm bracelet (see extra photo), which has kept it safe over many changes of address. That photo shows my nickname in my younger years engraved on the other side of the heart locket. Steady hands must have been essential to do that engraving!

(While looking for this bracelet, I came across a collection of coins I'd saved, including the two you see here. The UK new half penny was issued in 1974, and the French 5 centimes coin in 1985.

For those reading this who may remember those coins, the main photo gives you a good sense of the locket's size; for me, the coins remind me of seven visits to France, 2000-2014, and fifteen to the United Kingdom, 1968-2011.) 

Thanks to Pinkhairedlady for hosting Tiny Tuesday!!

Blip 2158

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.