If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Sclumbergera truncata.

This used to be Clickychick's Mum's Christmas cactus.  It flowered regularly and well around Christmas time.  When she died it came to live with us.

I know of Christmas cacti, Easter cacti and I gather our friends "across the pond" have Thanksgiving cacti.   Well I think this one has undergone some form of species change.   It is now either a "can't make my mind up" cactus or perhaps a "haven't got a calendar" cactus.

You are wondering why I am giving it such strange names.  Well now instead of being a Christmas cactus it starts at what we locally call "back end" (mid autumn) and produces a few flowers in succession.  As you can see from these buds it is still throwing flowers, so may yet reach Easter.

P.S. yesterday's blip was indeed Rhubarb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.