Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Secondhand books

I am yet to move to reading digital books...still preferring the printed version but perhaps the day is approaching when the only bookshops that will be operating are ones that sell secondhand books. I love going into bookshops and perusing the shelves and most often walk out with a purchase or two. I love the feel of a book, the smell, the whole aesthetics.

I have been known to purchase books through Amazon.com and generally have been more than happy with the process and the cost, but by doing so I know that I am hurting the local shops. In Subiaco in the past couple of years 2 bookshops have closed down :-(.

I think it is going to be a loss to society when shops close down and we order everything online and have it delivered to our door. My partner is a fan of ebay and I can't blame him as he often manages to find what he wants for a fraction of the cost in the stores here. But at what cost to society as we become more and more isolated. Things are expensive here because of the overheads...shop rental, wages, importing costs etc. Anyway...change happens and often we don't notice. I can't remember the last time I used a public phone box or posted a letter. In fact I don't even know where a public phone box is these days and they used to be so prolific.

Change...when was the last time I used a film in a camera and had the photographs printed? The last time I played a record, a video cassette. The last time I did something that doesn't require technology like hand writing a letter....Handwriting is becoming an obsolete skill it seems as I watch my 3 year old granddaughter playing educational games with my iPhone and computer.

Enough of this rambling...time to cook dinner (another skill that will disappear in the future as people are too busy to shop and cook and pre-prepared meals become more readily available).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.