Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Child's play

I was disappointed when I went to the city with Karla the other day and the new fountain wasn't working but at least it gave me the motivation to return today and as it turned out there were many more children around to play in the water. I first saw a similar fountain in Bern, Switzerland last year and really enjoyed photographing the children playing at that time and so I was keen to experience that again.

Some families were aware that there is a fountain in the city and came prepared with bathers (swimmers, cossies) for their children. Others were not so prepared and like ducks to water their children were in there, clothes and all. I saw one child being admonished by his father for getting wet and told to go and stand in the sun to dry (boo to him)...his sister had got the timing right and had dodged the fountain and managed to emerge dry (amazing) but that wouldn't have been half as much fun I'm sure. There were several drenched children having the time of their life with parents watching on and enjoying their child's enthusiasm for life.

As for me...well I was thoroughly enjoying watching. There were several aboriginal children, a couple of Asian, and several caucasian children all enjoying playing. Some liked to lay down on the strips and wait for the fountain to starts, some jumping to see if they could touch the top of the streams, some sliding, others playing tag and running, some just standing and enjoying getting a massage.

This fountain is a beautiful addition to Perth city....it brings life, joy, fun and it's FREE for everyone to enjoy. Big thumbs up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.