Resident Or Just Visiting?

Most mornings I descend to "The Crypt" and make sure that everything is OK.

After the heavy rain and snow water has been leaking into the space, and the anti-flood pump has been clearing it away.

The water had ceased flowing into the sump a couple of days. The level in the sump will drop as the ground water level drops.

This morning something looked different. Today’s Blipfoto shows a frog sitting on the blue float switch. He seemed quite relaxed.

How did he get here? I suspect he is a resident. Every summer a parade of very young frogs walk across our garden from who knows where. The destination is also unknown.

Occasionally one or two travel down the stairs to The Crypt. At that stage they are small enough to walk under the door.

Water does leak into the space and there are enough insects and spiders for a growing frog to snack on.

I suspect he is a resident. I think he may fallen into the sump and I have set up a ramp for him to escape.

During my career I have been in many basements of varying ages including Hill of Tarvit. Water leaks into them all and most have pumps to remove it.

What happens if the pump fails? There are two standby pumps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.