Whitelaw Wander

Staying with friends in their lovely new house in Bathgate, I wakened up early and took a walk east towards the rising sun. Beyond the housing estates I came into fields and met 3 deer. Walking on, I crested a hill and found this ruined but picturesque farm. It must have been inhabited relatively recently since there's electricity lines, but now it's just a shell. I searched the internet for some information and found that Bathgate used to have 3 iron foundries, a pit and all the supporting industry such as light railways. All that's gone now, a nice enough town but just a commuter base. It was great to be above all that - literally!

Big Bathgate.

It's a lovely day and the sun is shining on the decking. We're watching East Stirlingshire playing Rangers in the 3rd Division. Not my usual thing, but fun to watch guys on £30 per week winning against guys on house-prices per week. Come on the wee man!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.