Our Kereru

I was very glad when I finished a report (ironically from me as clinician to me as director), and was able to meet up with S and drive north to Fidelis Ave. It was a rather frustrating and demanding day. 

Having got back here I chose (perhaps selfishly) to drive across the peninsula for a walk by the outflow of the Mahurangi River. It was on that very pleasant walk on Te Whau Reserve walkway that I saw and photographed the Gate at the top of a hill which is an extra for today. 

The main photo came later. After getting back and then grilling the meat, S and I sat outside on the deck to enjoy our meal. As we relaxed afterwards, a Kereru (wood pigeon) left a nearby pohutukawa where it had sat unnoticed. Figuring it had likely flown around the house into its favourite tree, as I have previously termed it.

When I got to the road frontage, I saw two Kereru, which were soon joined by a third. Only this one was not obscured by leaves in my photos. I am pleased that we have a tree which provides sustenance for these big birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.