Final Moments

I found this Tiger Moth in a parking lot while I was waiting for Pet Smart to open. I feel like I'm forever buying dog food, but that's another story! The moth was on the roadway and probably would have gotten smushed later on when the stores opened and things got their usual hectic. I took a few shots of her with my iPhone and then carefully moved her onto a leaf and into a more 'green' area. Then I took a couple more photos. Later when I looked at the images I noticed that the black spots on her head area had changed to blue after she was moved to a more natural place. Maybe it was just the light's direction causing what to my eyes appeared to be a color change. Notice that many scales on the lower part of her wings have worn away, making me think that she was perhaps an elder moth. I hope that I gave this beautiful creature a gentle ending. 
Be Well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.