Home Renovations

On March 1st we usually see the first frogs coming to the pond but I am well aware that our pond is no longer the welcoming space of old, having become stagnant and muddy.

So, although this is not the best time of year to perform  the task, today I removed about 2/3 of the water, scooped up a lot of sludge and dead leaves and poured in two bucketsful and one watering-canful of water that has accumulated from rain and snow. I also set aside two more buckets of tap water to stand for a few days to remove any chorine, to be added later.

I'd had a suspicion that there was a frog already living in the pond and so it proved, though it was unwilling to be photographed by a human with filthy hands who had disturbed its peace, and it refused to sit still for a close-up (see extra for the result, I did try to sharpen the image).

I hope when the dust has settled we'll have clear water ready for the weed from the cat-drinking bucket and a welcome sign for the next invasion of frogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.