Walking a levada

One of the most popular activities is walking around the beautiful valleys of Madeira, often along the working water channels or levadas.

I have done two levada walks organised by companies since having my new hip but this holiday things haven't been so easy.

Last week my sister in law, her husband and my friend wouldn't let me go with them on their difficult one. This week I booked with a company who offered a butterfly walk but that fell through.

I went up to Monte this morning where several of the walks begin. Because I've been told not to do the walks alone (good advice) I didn't take my books and maps with me - too much temptation.

But I couldn't resist heading off down the trail. Down below the cable car to the Botanical Gardens, it is spectacular (but hazardous after the rain yesterday and the risk of rock falls).

The Welsh family in the photo had been given differing advice. The hotel said yes. The locals said no. The men set off but the women weren't so sure.

I was treated to some wonderful butterflies (clouded yellows, blues, whites and small coppers) plus the amazing Madeiran darters. My own private butterfly walk.

I was sensible. I turned back.

I was rewarded with a wonderful swim in the hotel pool and I've now tuned the main hotel tv to the televised Forest match :-). Naughty but nice.

Come on you Reds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.