HARRIS'S HAWK

I know there were lots of other things I should have been getting on with but it was such a lovely day, and I'm so glad I went over and had a walk in the cemetery. Two men were walking through with this beautiful creature, which made all the seagulls go crazy. I asked to photograph it and one of the men flew it from his wrist to a gravestone near me and told me what it was.

Elsewhere the crocuses were full of bees again - mostly honeybees, but I saw a very sluggish and not-quite-awake bumble bee which needed a bit of help (extra), a pair of treecreepers checking out a nestbox (extra), so I'll be keeping an eye on that and a couple of skeins of geese high up and heading north (extra). I think they might have been barnacle geese. I also saw two small tortoiseshell butterflies in flight, but couldn't catch up with them for a photo. My first butterflies of the year. Hooray for Spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.