Good Friday

Went to Eyemouth this afternoon for a swim with Red, Andrew and George (in the pool, not the sea!) and the place was really jumping. Loads of folk around, never seen it so busy. Never smelt it so clean: all the fishing boats were in, presumably for the holiday, and they'd all been scrubbed down.

I went to the caravan park at Eyemouth as a kid once, and my dad came back from a walk round the harbour and told my mum that he'd been asked if he wanted to go fishing the next day. "Lovely" said mum, "I'll make you some sandwiches". At which point dad was forced to confess that it was a 3 day trip on a trawler. Oddly enough, mum was less indulgent after that.

Eyemouth is a place that divides opinion. I love it for the very reasons that some people dislike it: it's old-fashioned and seems to be inhabited by - choosing my words carefully here - "characters". As evidenced by this poster on the nail bar door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.