fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Ark

Yesterday morning I went to see Dan playing a time-traveller in his class play (he was very good) and then I popped across the road to the secondary school to take a look at all the new building work.

It seems very odd that during the same period that we spend finance meetings poring over cash flow projections and nervously keeping an eye out for Michael Gove's latest policy improvisation, that we have been given large grants for building work but there you go.

And the school is making great use of the money, all of which will benefit the pupils, sometimes directly - new learning spaces and an extension to the sixth form common room - and sometimes less so, like the repairs to the roof.

With barely a whimper, I climbed up the ladders that weave through the scaffolding, to find myself four storeys up, looking at this roof. I'm not sure the photo does the scale of the work justice but it's incredibly impressive. For some reason and despite the fact it's the wrong way up, this put me in mind of Noah building the ark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.