Andy Tang's Photo Journal

By AndyTang

Her name is Yoshimi...

For some reason, I think of The Flaming Lips song, Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots Pt. 1, when is see these toys.

When I went to Hong Kong at eight years old, I got given a very similar model robot, which I built and remember fondly. The only problem was that I never got another one, and when I found them again I was too old to enjoy them (probably!)

Fast forward over two decades and my eldest son is six and a half, and just enjoyed building his first Airfix model. So on my recent trip to Hong Kong, I had these models in mind as a present. I had to get two as I learnt from experience they have no one to battle against if you only have one.

I have a happy son and he has a nostalgic dad who was only too happy to help him build them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.