Birthday memorial

Today remember dear Dad on what would have been his 94th birthday. Died due to heart attack in 2002 which was how all his brothers and father went too. I suppose he had a ‘good’ death as in he went quickly , good for him but hell for those he left behind, all being told in that little room off to the side of the entrance to the A and E with no chance to say goodbye. The clue to the bad news coming was the nurse following the doctor, was carrying the box of tissues as they came through the door to speak to the family.

I often think of these few hours in the hospital all the family gathered together waiting for the news. The nurse asked if we wanted to see Dad but it was just me that did. He looked so peaceful lying there on the bed as if sleeping. I said some words and a goodbye and also got the nurse to get scissors so I could cut off a piece of his hair which I have kept wrapped in tissue in a special box which I occasionally bring out and touch.

This photo was taken by my mum at the bridge over the Allan water in Blackford where they both lived. It was summer 1949 and Dad was 22, mum 20. The railway is operational as in the trains stopped here. My grandpa was the railways signalman at Blackford and he may even have been in his box in this picture. The building to the left is no longer there and the crossing looks nothing like it does nowadays. I see a car further down the street. One car! Not many in those days! Public transport was so much better. We seem to have regressed on that front.

Happy Birthday Dad you are still missed so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.