Look what I've got ...

If you can it is worth going large on this one to see the fluffiness of the wee one.

It was another sunny day although the clouds are beginning to roll in and the wind is fresher, heralding perhaps the end to this wonderful spell of weather. I decided that I would return to the road to the reservoir to see if i could get a good blip of the Highland Cattle half way up. Then the plan was to quickly return and give the dogs a good walk on the moor. As I approached the area where the cattle were I saw this enchanting sight of a proud mother showing off her newborn. I was only here on Wednesday and so this fluffy calf was, at the most, three days old. I stopped the car to take the photo and after a few shots the calf got up and walked towards me with the ingenious inquisitiveness of youth. The only problem was that it was followed by a rather anxious mum so I started the engine and quickly drove for the gate and cattle grid which was across the road keeping them safe, relaxing only when on the other side. I looked back and saw the group of still expectant mums busy tucking into some hay left for them and I was amused at this one who had found herself in deep .... mud. Once through the gate on the narrow road I was now committed to continuing up to the reservoir .

What greeted me was magical. The ice of Wednesday's blip had gone from the deeper water and, with the slight wind, ripples were being sent under the thin ice sheet. I could hear so many noises of creaking and cracking ice, merging with the bumble of waves moving across the deep water and the high pitched call of the gulls as they swept low over the ice sheet towards the water beyond..... shutting my eyes I could have been in the Arctic. The reflections of the hills were again dotted here and there where the ice still remained opaque against the bright blue of the fresh water. Mesmerised I wandered down to the shore line, getting quite wet boots in the process, and managed a close look at the ice at the edges where the movement of water underneath had broken it up into large translucent sheets each jostling for position, occasionally carrying a dark reflection of the neighbouring hills. As the sheets were buffeted together large slivers were pushed up out of the water. I did fancy taking some shots from underneath the exposed ice sheets but couldn't get close enough to guarantee not falling into the icy water - a blip too far I decided!

I really didn't want to leave but I knew the dogs were still in the car and desperate for a good walk so I made my way back. I was glad I had left them there, however, as I dread to think what mayhem my water loving Cara would have caused trying to swim in amongst the ice floes!

So, it was another bliptastic day with a number to choose from - I wish I had a live-in editor!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.